The Supreme Court has granted the government permission to appeal against the High Court’s judgment in R (Gina Miller and Deir Tozetti Dos Santos) v The Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union [2016] EWHC 2768 (Admin). The appeal will go straight to the Supreme Court, permission having been granted to “leapfrog” the Court of Appeal.

The appeal will be heard by all 11 Justices of the Supreme Court and will be chaired by Lord Neuberger, the President of the Supreme Court. It has been listed for 5 to 8 December 2016, with judgment expected to follow “probably in the New Year”.